Intent verse Result

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
billiard

Intent verse Result

Post by billiard »

Intent verse results is something to ponder.

I hope Ernie doesn't mind me quoting him (a bit out of context) here.
e Markle wrote:We cannot judge a pipe by the intentions behind it. If we did, then every newbie pipe on this forum would sell for what a Former/Toku/TJ pipe (or whatever pipe they were trying to emulate) went for because it was their INTENTION to make that pipe. That would be crazy. We have to judge a pipe based on results.
I'm a new pipe maker - now admittedly I have been making pipes for several years BUT my shop time is extremely low with a many hour job, wife, 3 kids, etc - I spent a long time just on cobs and I have gone months in between making a pipe . I am trying hard to dedicate time to it, but the day job that pays the bills, the family, etc must come first. So some newbs get more experiences in 2 months then I have gotten in 2 years.

This pipe I am posting sort of illuminates the intent verse results - at least how I am thinking about it (I'm not trying to say how Ernie thought) You can read the write up of this pipe on my website here if you are interested: http://www.billboylepipes.com/thecargohold.html

My Intent was to make a variation of a Pete Kinsale (An XL something I don't remember its out in the shop) however when I was turning the top of the bowl in the lathe I hit a flaw the size of Texas and I decided to raise my rings higher so that I wouldn't be cutting rings right over the flaw.

This minor change really changed quite a bit. If you look at the profile pics and you imagine the rings farther down, and the ring diameter a little wider then I wouldn't have the chin issue as my angle would be steeper on the front of the bowl. Also the back of the shanks flaring would match much better.