Drawing Templates

For the things that don't fit neatly into the other categories.
thejayrob

Drawing Templates

Post by thejayrob »

Hey everyone. I'm very new to the pipe making scene. In fact i've only shaped three hobby pre drilled kits. And you could tell Im new. my question is this. Do you guys dedicate any time to drawing pipe shapes? Does drawing pipes help you in your pipe shaping and coming up with new shapes and modifications of more traditional shapes? There are so many youtube videos of guys who use templates to do ruff shaping. Do you think drawing pipes will help newbie pipe makers develop skills? Thanks guys.
jogilli
Site Supporter

Re: Drawing Templates

Post by jogilli »

help.. I don't know but I'm sure it must in some sense.. I have a moleskin pad I carry with me nearly everywhere... and I can't tell you how many pipes I've designed on airplanes, trains, and when bored during conference meetings...actually my notepad at work has been known to have designs drawn on the last few pages.. so moral of the story .. i draw them and then make them...... and at times I make templates of them.. that are then adapted during shaping depending on the briar block being shaped

james
d.huber

Post by d.huber »

I find sketching really helpful as a way to think through ideas. I usually sketch in my down time at work or if I'm in transit to or from work. However, and I'd wager I'm in the minority here, my sketches rarely turn into pipes. I usually pick up a block that's calling to me and shape it until the excess is gone and the pipe is left in my hands. If you could see my sketches, you'd probably laugh. I couldn't draw a polar bear in a snowstorm. :lol:
http://www.dshpipes.com

"Strive for excellence, not for what someone else accepts."
-Tyler Beard
thejayrob

Post by thejayrob »

Cool. Thanks so much guys for your input. I didnt know how much emphasis I needed to put on my drawings vs just letting the briar decide whats going to happen. Thanks guys.