Another new billiard

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
Ryan

Another new billiard

Post by Ryan »

I took Jeffs advise and left it unfinished, mind you there a few scratches. This pipe has and a large flaw inside the bowl, so I'm going to be smoking it.

KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »

Hi Ryan,

(Amazing how it's easier to spot things you would do differently in someone else's work, while it's an order of magnitude more difficult when it's your work. Keep that in mind with the below - I'm no billiard expert, not by a long shot.)

The first thing I noticed was the shank. It seems kinda long, making the pipe seem "lanky", if you know what I mean. It's difficult to tell scale from photos, but it looks like you could shorten the shank by about 1.5cm or so and bring it more in proportion.

I think the stem length is probably about right once the shank is shortened. Hmm. Maybe a hair longer. No, maybe not. Hard to say without a little photoshopping.

I would personally like to see more curve to the outside line of the bowl. Reduce the diameter near the top, leaving the bottom mostly as-is. Try to get the area of maximum bowl diameter down near the top of the shank. Well, "near-ish" anyway.

Tough to tell from the photos, but it looks like you have a bit of the bowl hanging below the line of the bottom of the shank. If this is so, just make sure that the line of the shank is straight and continuous.

And again, tough to tell from the photos, but make sure the taper of the stem doesn't stop before it gets to the shank - and that it doesn't stop right at the shank. Personally, I like the shank to continue tapering right up to the bowl - a mild taper though, nothing too obvious. This would be easy to fix as it stands right now, just some sanding at the stem/shank junction will clean it up real well.