A Castello 293 Riff

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
billiard

A Castello 293 Riff

Post by billiard »

Hi All,

I'm not posting this for a critique. It's a commission for a respected smoker/collector/maker so I'd prefer the commentary offline (and I've gotten plenty, lol, but feel free to blast me in a PM if you want :)).

I do have a reason to post this though, a tip that may help someone:

Try something different.

As a hobbyist I do not make a lot of pipes (relatively) but this year every pipe I have made has been sand blasted, with a flush fit stem, and a flat top. This stem is completely different than anything I have made before as well.

I learned a tremendous amount making this pipe. I had to rethink how I do several procedures to make this.

No, I'm certainly not saying to do different things every time - getting a procedure down, that you know, is important to do and changing too many things at once can cause lots of confusion, but that said making this pipe I think was very good for me long term. I most likely will get back to my usual style with my next pipe but like I said I got a lot out of this.

The commission was for a smooth Castello 293 shape and for me to put a little of my own spin\style on it.

Any thoughts on my thoughts? :)

Bill
sandahlpipe

Re: A Castello 293 Riff

Post by sandahlpipe »

I think the idea has some potential. The part that I don't think works is the tenon sticking out like it does. Having a gap between the shank and stem would work well, I think, if you repeat the line on the shank face on the stem.
Also, it looks like you've got a pinch on the bottom line of the stummel.

I'd say try exploring this idea a bit further and see how you can improve it.
---
Fail early, fail often. Your success depends on it.

Jeremiah Sandahl
http://sandahlpipe.com
billiard

Post by billiard »