Posting Your Pipes For Critique

For the things that don't fit neatly into the other categories.
scotties22

Posting Your Pipes For Critique

Post by scotties22 »

I stopped posting out of laziness a while back. I am now making it a point to post most if not all of my pipes here for critique. I think it is still very important to my development that I get honest feedback from makers who have been at this longer than I have. I have been making pipes for 2 years now and have made a total of 79 pipes. I rarely post critique on another makers offering. Mostly because I do not think my body of work qualifies me to do so. In the rare instance that I do comment it is on a shape that I have a firm grasp on.

I think that critiques are a two way street here. If you are going to give feedback to another maker you need to be posting your body of work here for the same purpose (Unless, of course, you are a professional pipemaker who does this shit for a living). There are a few reasons for this. One, so that we can all make fun of Ryan and not feel too bad for doing so knowing that he is going to get a shot at us with the next pipe we post. Two, someone is going to point something out that you overlooked (this happens every time I post a pipe and I have become a better pipemaker because of this). And lastly, very few of us will ever "master" this craft on any level. If you are to be one of the lucky ones that do, you need to take advantage of the advise of the more experienced makers who frequent this fine place.

Call me crazy if you want, but this has been something on my mind lately and I thought it prudent to share.
Am I Calamity Jane or Annie Oakley??...depends on the day.
www.ladybriar.com
notow1

Re: Posting Your Pipes For Critique

Post by notow1 »

Hey, I was going to say that in six months, Norm.
Alden

Post by Alden »

I'm all for making fun of Ryan. That guy is nuts.
Literaryworkshop

Post by Literaryworkshop »