Salt and Alcohol Method

Discussion of pipe restoration and sales, as well as pipe repair and maintenance tricks.
PastorPipe

Salt and Alcohol Method

Post by PastorPipe »

I am pretty new to pipes in general, but I inherited quite a collection from a grandfather with a mind for making money, but clearly not for cleaning pipes. I have restored the stems on the pipes and thoroughly rheamed the insides etc. Nonetheless, they still seem to be pretty abused and fairly smelly? What is this salt and alcohol method that I have been hearing about and where can I learn more about it?
alexanderfrese

Post by alexanderfrese »

Salt and alcohol is mentioned several times somewhere in the forums from http://www.pipes.org. Search there. I found one article here. There is another cure with activated charcoal you can read about here.
I myself was fighting with a similar situation. Read about the procedure (I am still working on it) that helped me to get some horrible smell out of crappy estates in another thread of this forum here. There are some issues still, but maybe it helps. Watch the whole thread down to my messages, since it origininally focusses on stain removal, which is a possible side effect of my treatment.

Alex
marks

Post by marks »

Here's how I do the salt/alcohol method, when I do it. I have heard of some folks that have had trouble with cracked bowls after doing this, but I am not sure they are using the exact ingredients, or letting everything dry out at the end. Be forewarned as well, that I have heard of some folks having trouble with the alcohol leaching through the bowl and damaging the finish, although I have not had that happen to me personally.

Ingredients: Non Iodized Salt, Everclear 190 proof grain alcohol.