New guy saying hi

For the things that don't fit neatly into the other categories.
phmann

New guy saying hi

Post by phmann »

So I have been making pipes off and on for about 6 years but all without any guidance as far as how it should be done. This has resulted in some interesting designs. I started in college because I couldn't afford a pipe of my own and had access to the art building's shop tools.

Myself and Tobacco get along well. Although I tend to prefer cigars, I smoke my pipe here and there and enjoy it quite a bit. There's a great smoke shop here in Rochester that I frequent called Dewey Ave. Smoke shop.

I recently became more serious about it after a couple friends asked me to make them some pipes for specific purposes. I have accumulated some tools and have been hoping to sell a few pipes in order to buy either a drill press or a lathe. Currently I use prefab stems but hope to learn to work with stem materials myself.

I have been reading on here a lot and find much of the information very useful. Thanks to Kurt for a great idea!

I have been steadily working on a few pipes that I am very proud of and have been getting ready to post some pics to get some advice as far as where I could improve. So I wanted to wait until I could get them all buffed and waxed before posted them. Earlier today my package from Tim West came with the compounds and another buffing wheel. I was so excited to be done so I could post the pictures and move on to working on some other pipes. Then, when buffing my best one yet, the buffer sent my best pipe airborne whereupon it suffered a chip in the briar and broke the stem off! After swearing quietly so my wife couldn't hear, I gathered myself and set it aside not really knowing what I was going to do with it now. Then I grabbed my next best pipe waiting o be finished. Wouldn't you know that a careless turn of the stem cracked the shank! WTF! This never happened on any of my other works of crap!