How many pipes?...

For the things that don't fit neatly into the other categories.
Will_Branch

How many pipes?...

Post by Will_Branch »

How many pipes did you make before you began selling them, or thought that they were decent enough to sell?

How did you go about beginning to sell your pipes?

What would you have done differently going from a hobby to sideline or full-time professional?

I have made to pipes so far, so I am no expert... But, I'd like to think that I could offer my pipes for sale at some point, assuming I can make a technically good pipe that has some appealing design. I have about 80 briar blocks that I mostly bought from a wife / husband pipe making team in KY. I'm not sure of the quality of the grain of many of them because they are ruff cut, dusty and seem to have aged a good bit as they are deep brown, but no cracking issues. They are all plateau, but just not sure if they are extra or extra extra... Just comparing the block by weight to the JH Lowe and Tinsky's sites I got them for less than 1/2 the price plus some other odds and ends - shipped.

Anyway... I'd hope I could offer some pipes before I use up my supply...

I appreciate your input.

Will
ArtGuy

Post by ArtGuy »

80 Blocks! That is waaaaay too many to have in one spot. For reasons of safety you should sent some to me so that I can share the risks. Don't ask me what the risks are. They are too complicated to explain here. I know, it is a very selfless thing to do but that is the kind of guy I am. :wink:

Seriously though, it all depends on the person but, I made about 8 pipes before I started selling them. I have made probably 20 pipes give or take so far. I have been doing it since late July early Aug 2003.
Will_Branch

Post by Will_Branch »

Hi John... So you are the briar block inspection / risk management dept... I tried to send in a block, but it was returned - undelivered. They couldn't find you. :P :wink: