Chamber Bits...

Discussions of tools wether you bought them or made them yourself. Anything from screwdrivers to custom chucks and drilling rigs.
scotties22

Chamber Bits...

Post by scotties22 »

So I have been getting by on the Pimo chamber bits since I started making pipes. my 3/4 inch needs to be replaced. I am too much of a chicken to get a spade bit and make my own......fraid I'll hurt myself. I was hoping one of you might have a good quality spare that you could part with. Straight or taper...doesn't really matter at this point. Or should I just buy one from Tim West? Thanks boyses....

Scottie
Am I Calamity Jane or Annie Oakley??...depends on the day.
www.ladybriar.com
AlanP

Re: Chamber Bits...

Post by AlanP »

First off, I would like to preface that i'm no pro. I just had my first attempt at pipe making maybe a month ago. I've also really never done any kind of woodwork.

Not being sure if I could do it or whatever, I didn't want to spend any more money than I had to. I got a spade bit I had lying around, and drew out what shape I wanted with a sharpie. Took it to my grinder and decided at worst I was only going to be losing a few bucks. I ground both sides down till I got into my sharpie mark. I traced around both sides and found the side that I liked the best. then I just made the other side match that by flipping it back and forth to check the profiles of it and marking on the spade where I needed to do some work. I'm sure it's not perfect, and it may not be the way it's supposed to be done, but it puts a pretty solid hole in the wood.

Also, when grinding make sure you don't grind on the cutting side of the bit, no sense in having to sharpen it forever after you get done.

Also, this was my first post WOOT! I had to quit lurking sometime.
caskwith

Post by caskwith »

It's really not too difficult to make your own from a spade bit. If you really don't want to look for a 3/4" or 19/20mm ball nosed end mill, they make great chamber bits.
scotties22