Looking for cracked blocks

What to buy a used tool? Looking to sell some extra stems or inlay material? Post your buy, sell, or trade requests and advertisements here.
GastonI

Looking for cracked blocks

Post by GastonI »

being a rank novice I might have a Silly but what should be cost effective for me to learn how to work with briar and Dremel until I can save the money for a proper lathe, I was using Maple burls because per block I was able to get pretty good prices to hammer out the details and main concepts, but then If I actually produce anything worth keeping it'll probably smoke horribly and wouldn't have been worth the time invested. Also hopefully this serves a double purpose of getting rid of blocks that those of you who purchase in bulk aide in taking a smaller loss for things that you wouldn't normally invest the time in.

please let me know any one can help me out with this
Thanks ahead of time
Massis

Re: Looking for cracked blocks

Post by Massis »

If you want to practice on cheap stuff, order extra ebauchons from Jaume Hom in Spain.

Shipping included you'll pay 177 USD for 25 ebauchons.
Ofcourse the grain isn't all that and they're quite small, but it's enough to get you started!
JeremyV

Post by JeremyV »

Yup! You'll definately get plenty of cracked ones from Juan. I drilled number 5 of 10 last night. Four have been cracked or heavily pitted.
Massis

Post by Massis »

JeremyV wrote:Yup! You'll definately get plenty of cracked ones from Juan. I drilled number 5 of 10 last night. Four have been cracked or heavily pitted.
I have only drilled one so far, so I can only judge the outsides.

I can say out of 25 of his cheapest ebauchons there are:
4 really good ones. Nice grain, light color, smell nice and nicely squared
1 pure garbage, it's not squared at all, smells very musty, had some bugs on it, is very dark in colour, has no grain and is covered in ground.