Lathe advice needed

Discussions of tools wether you bought them or made them yourself. Anything from screwdrivers to custom chucks and drilling rigs.
5277a124

Lathe advice needed

Post by 5277a124 »

There are many great posts about lathes and the debates thereof on this site. I've been making pipes for about 3 years with a drill press, band saw, 1" belt sander, dremel and sandpaper and finally came to the point where I want a lathe so I can actually make something truly round. Also, I would like to start making stems from rod stock instead of using pre-molded stems. I only have space for one workbench lathe and am inclined toward a metal lathe since it seems like that's the one that will do both stems and wood the best. I read good things about the Taig mini lathe, but it seems that some say it's too small for stummel work. Any recommendations about a quality lathe and the needed toolage would be greatly appreciated. Lastly, I live in Long Beach, CA, and I would be happy to pay a reasonable fee to anyone nearby that would be willing to school me on how to make a billiard on a lathe. All the best.

Cheers,

Jeff
JHowell

Re: Lathe advice needed

Post by JHowell »

Budget? Taig is too small for anything but stems, and even for stems it's such a big advantage to have a hole through spindle big enough to accommodate your rod stock that I would make that a priority. So you're looking 9 or 10 inch as a minimum. That winds up also being the maximum for lots of guys because of the cost and space/weight requirements. Which way to go, import or old USA, has been discussed quite a bit. If the past discussions here don't give you some ideas, I'd recommend keeping an eye on Craigslist and ebay to see what's in your area. Sooner or later a lathe will come along that happens to be something you can use and something you're able to move, and it will seem like a good value. Could be a Logan, could be a Jet, could be an Emco, could be a Dalton. Good luck.
KurtHuhn
Site Admin