Killed My Favorite Stanwell Stem

Discussion of pipe restoration and sales, as well as pipe repair and maintenance tricks.
Pooka

Killed My Favorite Stanwell Stem

Post by Pooka »

I have a Stanwell HCA, blasticated calabash-style. I did something stooopid with the short stem and now it's ruined. I really love that pipe except the short stem was always too tight on the airflow. I'm stuck with the churchwarden stem now but would like to get a replacement.

Is there anyone here who could reproduce the acrylic awesomeness of my HCA short stem or at least come real close? (not caring about the logo, which is crappy paint and wore off really quick)

I would love to do it myself but I'm out of budget for materials and my tools need an overhaul. I'm not experienced with acrylic anyhow and would probably waste a LOT of material getting it right.

Pooka

Re: Killed My Favorite Stanwell Stem

Post by Pooka »

Oh, and I'd be willing to trade some 5-year old plateaux from PME if that would make things sweeter. :thumbsup:
Pooka

Post by Pooka »

Dang, no takers? Sniffle. Bucks and briar for a stem, dudes.
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »

I didn't see this until just now.

I'm willing to take on the job. I have an identical stem here - but I have no preconceived notion of my pipe's mortis and yours actually being the same size. I'll definitely need the pipe to make sure it's correct.

--Kurt
Kurt Huhn
AKA: Oversized Ostrogoth
artisan@k-huhn.com
SimeonTurner
Site Supporter

Post by SimeonTurner »

Sounds like an internet scam to me.

"Send me your pipe, along with your SS# and email password, and I'll make it like new."

Don't trust that Kurt guy. He's a shady character.
:P
"It is noble to be good; it is still nobler to teach others to be good - and less trouble."

Turner Pipes Website:
http://www.turnerpipes.com

Of Briar and Ashes:
http://turnerpipes.wordpress.com
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »

SimeonTurner wrote:Sounds like an internet scam to me.