Stain and/or Shellac questions

Sanding, rusticating, sandblasting, buffing, etc. All here.
mathias65

Stain and/or Shellac questions

Post by mathias65 »

I'm wondering what is the best kind of stain or dye to use? Brand name, not color. I have one bottle of light walnut alcohol based stain, but had a hell of a time getting it, and after 2 pipes I'd like to try another color. It was ordered on the web. I couldn't find any alcohol based stains in the local hardware stores. So, I'm wondering is there a good alternative to the alcohol based stains? Hopefully something that can be picked up locally and cheaply.

The same question also applies to shellac. I've never used it before and hear everyone talking about it. What is the best to get? And what is the best way to use it?
TRS
Site Supporter

Re: Stain and/or Shellac questions

Post by TRS »

mathias65 wrote:I'm wondering what is the best kind of stain or dye to use? Brand name, not color.
Fiebing's Leather dye, available here -> www.pipemakers.org

You can google it and find a color chart pretty easily.
stummel bum

Post by stummel bum »

I use fiebing's as well and love the dye, but like you say, getting it locally is a no go. I'm beating my brains out because I wasn't paying attention and ran out of one of my stains after my last pipe. I found a cheap place to order it, but it took almost a week for the order to process and I'm still waiting on it. I can't do a thing on this pipe until I get it :banghead: Oh well. Nature of the beast.
Cheers,
Rob
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »

Fiebings is also available at Tandy Leather, and there's probably one near you: http://www.tandyleatherfactory.com

They will ship from the closest store to you. I get mine overnight for a nominal fee since I've close enough to get overnight via USPS, but too far to realistically drive.