New Stamp Logo

For discussion of the drilling and shaping of the stummel.
sean

New Stamp Logo

Post by sean »

Now I know that I suck right now at this whole pipe making (see my gallery postings) but I am hooked and am about to order a pipe stamp. I figure that in 10 years I may actually want to claim a pipe as my own by stamping it. What do you think?

Sean - I Still Suck
http://www.epperspipes.com
stummel bum

Re: New Stamp Logo

Post by stummel bum »

Love the logo. The only thing I might suggest is changing the circle to an oval. Take my advice with a large grain of salt because I have no stamping experience, but I would think that if you were planning on stamping shanks, an oval shaped logo would be easier to get an even impression than trying to roll such a wide mark across a rounded surface. It's not so much an aesthetic thing as it is an issue of usability. I'm thinking of getting a stamp someday myself and want something that will be easy to get consistent results with.

Those with more experience would know better than I.
Cheers,
Rob
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »

Keep in mind that as the size of the stamp increases, the difficulty of actually stamping rises exponentially. Not just from rolling the stamp on, but also the force needed to make a good impression - briar is hard wood.

Past that, the logo looks very nice.
Kurt Huhn
AKA: Oversized Ostrogoth
artisan@k-huhn.com
Leus

Post by Leus »

Same here. Consider using a small circle with the stylized E, and a different stamp for the text. That's what I would do if I had the money to order another stamp.
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »

When I bought stamps years ago I opted to get separate stamps for everything. Makes stamping very easy.
Kurt Huhn
artisan@k-huhn.com
SimeonTurner
Site Supporter

Post by SimeonTurner »