Tapered drill bits - why do they work?

Discussions of tools wether you bought them or made them yourself. Anything from screwdrivers to custom chucks and drilling rigs.
Kettletrigger

Tapered drill bits - why do they work?

Post by Kettletrigger »

Hi everyone, I've been lurking for awhile and finally joined up. I've been plotting and planning some pipes and am excited to get started! I'm a weekend machinist, which brings me to my question:

Why do tapered drill bits cut? Everything that I've ever read, been taught, and experienced with drilling holes is that only the leading edges of a drill bit cut and that the spiral flutes exist solely for chip extraction. I've sharpened an awful lot of drill bits, and I've never sharpened the flanks–only the leading edges. Could it be that pipe stem materials are so soft that the drill bit just forces its way through and hogs the material out?

Based on my experience working with metal, I would think that a tapered reamer would be the way to go, but I haven't seen any discussion about that method.

Obviously, lots of people are using tapered bits with success and tool suppliers sell them, so I must be missing something. I'm hoping that one of the more experienced machinists here can shed some light on this for me.

Thanks!

Jim
Dana Point, CA
"The free, exploring mind of the individual human
is the most valuable thing in the world."
-John Steinbeck
Frank

Post by Frank »

They don't taper all the way to a sharp point. There is a small cutting edge/face approx. 2mm wide, standard drill point angle (118 deg.?).

It's the same as a tapered wood screw drill bit - just has a longer taper and longer shank.
Regards,
Frank.
------------------
Grouch Happens!
People usually get the gods they deserve - Terry Pratchett
Kettletrigger

Post by Kettletrigger »