Button Question

For discussion of fitting and shaping stems, doing inlays, and any other stem-related topic.
staffwalker
Site Supporter

Button Question

Post by staffwalker »

Back when I started learning to make pipes, two and a half years ago (and after the first few clunkers which I was so proud of, only later to realize they were pure crap), one of the first things I looked at was how to make a comfortable stem. At that time (and still do), I had somewhere over three hundred pipes, most from ebay, others given to me by ex-smokers and new ones I had purchased. Having smoked all of them, as improbable as that may seem, I knew some felt good in the mouth and others didn't. I took each and measured the button on the stem. Not just the thickness of the stem just before the button but the actual 'lip' of the button. They ranged from 24 thousands/6.5mm on the thickest stem to 14 thou/3.7mm on the thinnest. The lip of the buttons ranged from 30 thou/8mm to 24 thou/6.5mm. After lots of measuring and lots of smoking I determined not to declare a pipe finished until the stem was 16 thou/4.5mm or less and the lip of the button was 25 thou/6.8mm or less.

I have read lots of talk here and elsewhere about the thickness/thinness of the stem but I can't recall a single discussion about the actual thickness/thinness of the lip of the button. Yet, for me and my smoking experience the lip is just as important or perhaps more so in the way a pipe feels in the mouth. A pipe with a thin stem still feels clunky if it has a thick lip on the button. I have several pipes that fit that category.

What do you guys strive for in the thickness/thinness of the lip? Do you feel it is of equal importance with the thickness/thinness of the stem? Or are you just concerned with the stem and when you have it where you want it, do you then just shape the lip so it looks good without actually worrying about how thick or thin it is?

bob gilbert
baweaverpipes
The Awesomer

Post by baweaverpipes »