Briar Jewelry

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
Vermont Freehand

Briar Jewelry

Post by Vermont Freehand »

Hello Everyone,

I decided to share some pictures of some briar jewelry I made a couple years ago. It's nice to see some beautiful briar grain outside of the pipe industry once in a while. This is my first time trying to post pictures on a forum, so I hope it works okay.

This first picture is the cuff bracelet in it's holder. The holder did not come out of the same piece of briar as the bracelet did. The piece that the bracelet came out of had the center of the burl in the middle of the block running straight through side to side, creating a starburst of flame grain on each side of the block. It made the perfect block for a cuff bracelet. The grain in the bracelet is a perfect birdseye all the way aound the bracelet. It was made to custom fit my (at the time) girlfriend's wrist to perfection.

Tell me what you think of this piece. I know the first picture shows how it is not symetrical, it was made to fit just perfect and that was the shape I came up with, even though it shows the symetry is off when in holder, it doesn't show when it's worn.

I have a bunch more necklaces and other interesting carvings I might post soon. I don't want to post 20 pictures in one shot.
caskwith

Post by caskwith »

I think that is incredibly cool!

Looks like im gonna have to play around with some scraps and make some bits of jewellery with it.
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »

That's really nice looking, Steve. Did you use the normal buff and wax method of finishing that, or did you opt for something more resilient? That's a really nice shine! It's also stunning amount of birdseye! Holy cow!
Kurt Huhn
AKA: Oversized Ostrogoth
artisan@k-huhn.com
Vermont Freehand

Post by Vermont Freehand »