Pipe #2

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
wdteipen

Pipe #2

Post by wdteipen »

Here's my latest pipe. It went okay. The stem is my first handcrafted stem and is made out of absylux with a delrin tenon. I'm not real pleased with the stem/stummel connection. A pipe cleaner gets hung up at the end of the tenon/entry into the stummel because of the angle of the draft hole. Once again, the photos aren't great because I'm a horrible photographer. Let me know what you think.

Charl

Post by Charl »

Interesting shape!

I agree with the shank/stem junction not being entirely what it should be. Also, to my eye, the flow from the bottom of the bowl towards the shank is interrupted.

But rather listen to the pros, I'm just a rookie.

All in all, it's a rather nice interesting pipe.
wdteipen

Post by wdteipen »

I agree with you on all points, Charl. I was going to sand off that lip below the shank but for some reason didn't despite a nagging urge to do so. I should have gone with my gut. I'm really struggling with getting the stem and shank squared and flush. I get the best results using the PIMO counterbore but it's limited to very skinny shanks (5/8" I think.) Sometimes the PIMO counterbore leaves a pretty rough cut. I'm not sure if that's because I'm drilling too slow or too fast or if the tool is dull. I'm wondering if I would get better results with a 7/8" Forstner. I also made a newbie mistake of doing a little sanding on the shank with the stem off. Stupid mistake. As always, I'm learning the hard way. Thanks for the input.
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »