Waxing

Sanding, rusticating, sandblasting, buffing, etc. All here.
hazmat

Waxing

Post by hazmat »

Pipes, you bunch of smart arses. :lol:

Quick question. When you're waxing your stummel, how many coats of carnauba are "enough" and at what point are you just wasting your time? Curious...
kbadkar
Site Supporter

Post by kbadkar »

I'm no expert, but I try to get one nice and even coat and then buff with a flannel wheel. I've found that if you overload your wax buff or try more than one coat, you end up with a gloppy areas of excess wax and/or end up removing the first coat rather than "building up" another.
Frank

Post by Frank »

I don't recall where I read this & it could be just a load of old pipe dottle, but the guy said he lets the bowl sit under a table lamp for awhile until it's nice & warm and the "pores"(grain?) are open, then he applies the carnauba which is absorbed into the open "pores". Claims the shine lasts a lot longer.

I haven't tried it yet myself, just thought it worth a mention. More experienced pipemakers can address the "wax buildup" issue. That 3-dimensional shine that guys like Kurt et al get, still eludes me.
Regards,
Frank.
------------------
Grouch Happens!
People usually get the gods they deserve - Terry Pratchett
Smitty

Post by Smitty »

I read that too, about the lamp. I left mine out in the shed. I live in SE Florida and it gets wicked hot in the shed where I do the polishing. I have not seen any difference. I still have to refinish them after a few pipefulls. I only put one coat on them after smoking.
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »

Frank wrote:I haven't tried it yet myself, just thought it worth a mention. More experienced pipemakers can address the "wax buildup" issue. That 3-dimensional shine that guys like Kurt et al get, still eludes me.