Glorious failure

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
josh_ford

Glorious failure

Post by josh_ford »

Hey guys,

I just finished my first pipe of '07 and it was very discouraging. I was doing my finishing sanding and realized there was a gentle glow on the inside of the tobacco chamber, which is obviously not supposed to be there. Unfortunately I had sanded way too deep, completely misjudged the angle of my tobacco chamber. I liked the basic shape of the pipe so I finished it anyway. It was good practice and I am still learning a ton from every pipe. This is number 10 for me.

Chamber: 3/4" x 1.6"
Length: 5 1/2"
Height: 2"
handcut acrylic stem and delrin tennon.

and here is a pic of another I just finished. It started as pipe #3 but ended at pipe #9 so I had to eal with some of my earlier mistakes but here it is as well:

Please give your honest opinions of both, I would really appreciate it. And I apologize for the pics, still definitely working on that aspect (the pictures sure looked better before I posted them, oh well)

Josh
magruder

Post by magruder »

Hi Josh,
Those mistakes will happen. I think you just have to push on. I like the first pipe and I like the "idea" of the second.
Keep going Man.
Best,
Steve Morrisette
sethile

Post by sethile »

Ouch! I feel your pain, my friend! That really hurts when your that far along on what looks like a really nice pipe!

I've often worried about that very same spot on some of mine. I have not sanded through yet, but I've worried about it, and I know some are thinner than they should be. I'm going to explore using a gauge to check for thickness from time to time. I've seen one used by several of the Danish makers. Something like this (from Kent Rasmussen):
I'm going to build a set of those... It might also help gauge symmetry, as well as thickness.