Opinions on Linseed Oil.

Sanding, rusticating, sandblasting, buffing, etc. All here.
Lizbet_Di'Battori

Opinions on Linseed Oil.

Post by Lizbet_Di'Battori »

Hi, I'm a veteran smoker, but very new to pipe making, and I have learned that a lot of finishes tend to blister after being smoked for a while. I have done other projects with wood, and I have always used linseed oil, which I finished my first pipe with, but I was wondering if other people have tried this and encountered problems. I am trying to get an idea of what to expect, and whether I can continue to use linseed oil, as I tend to have fair amounts on hand, or if I need to go get some shellac, which I have noticed seems to be quite popular. Opinions anyone?
Lizbet Di Battori
“I believe that pipe smoking contributes to a somewhat calm and objective judgment in all human affairs." Albert Einstein.
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Re: Opinions on Linseed Oil.

Post by KurtHuhn »

There have been some pipe makers that have experimented with Danish Oil, including myself. It contains, among other things, linseed oil. The drawback is that it contains other, sometimes unknown, components. It all depends on the brand, and the particular recipe of the oil.

I use a linseed oil mix of my own recipe for gun stocks and grips, knife handles, wooden utensils, table tops, and other stuff. I prefer it to anything else in that use case because it soaks in to the wood and polymerizes there - basically becoming a plastic.

When using shellac, I use it primarily as a sanding sealer in cases where linseed oil won't be used. It's not permanent, and other than wax, there's usually no other finish applied. In the case of pipes, this is just carnuba (carnauba?) wax.