Pipe #2 - Trireme

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
TheOldLie

Pipe #2 - Trireme

Post by TheOldLie »

Hey y'all, I'm brand new to both this forum and to pipemaking. I've made two pipes so far from Vermont Freehand pipe kits. My first was a bent billiard, which I have not posted for critique but possibly will in the future. You can see my second one below. It was inspired by the shape of Ancient Greek triremes. There are a fair amount of things I know are wrong with it and that I can improve. One of my biggest problems is symmetry, which I have no doubt you will notice on the front and top views (at the very least). Additionally, my finish is not as smooth and reflective as I'd like it to be, which probably comes down to not enough sanding at higher grits. It's also possible that the pipe is simply a little bulky, but I just don't have enough experience to say whether or not that is accurate. Anyway, please provide me with any critique you have. I apologize for it not being a standard pipe shape, and therefore more difficult to compare it to a common example.

Edit: Sorry about the link not working. I hope the images appear now.

Thanks,
Andrew

Last edited by TheOldLie on Thu May 14, 2020 8:05 pm, edited 6 times in total.
n80

Re: Pipe #2 - Trireme

Post by n80 »

Imgur is asking me to sign-in.
DocAitch

Post by DocAitch »

“Freehands” such as this will garner very few remarks on this forum. Many of the participants here will not comment because there are no criteria that apply.
To be blunt, that is an OK piece of sculpture but it leaves something to be desired as a device in which to smoke tobacco.
A tobacco pipe is a meld of the practical- “Will this device allow a good, comfortable smoke?” and the aesthetic “Are the lines and shape pleasing, and does the grain figure add to the appearance?”