Polishing Vulcanite

For discussion of fitting and shaping stems, doing inlays, and any other stem-related topic.
n80

Polishing Vulcanite

Post by n80 »

I'm a beginner. Not making my own stems yet. Ordered some unfinished vulcanite stems from Vermont Freehand. Working on one now just to see what I can do. Sanded all the mold lines off of it. Sanded down to 1000 grit and them buffed with some unknown generic yellow buffing compound. It shined up okay but not to a glass-like see-you-reflection finish.

Any tips on getting a glossier finish? Should I be using finer sandpaper? Is there a specific buffing compound that works best?

Apologies if this is a common question.

Finally, can vulcanite be heated and bent like ebonite?

Thanks for any assistance,

George
LatakiaLover

Re: Polishing Vulcanite

Post by LatakiaLover »

Ebonite and vulcanite are the same thing.

Getting the stuff to TRULY shine is a minor art form, and (probably) no two people do it the same way.

In a nutshell, don't try shortcuts---thoroughly sand with each grit, and the same with compounds, and don't use cheap versions of either. Use pro-grade automotive finishing papers, and Menzerna compounds.
UFOs must be real. There's no other explanation for cats.
KurtHuhn
Site Admin

Post by KurtHuhn »

And use sandpaper as if it were free. Or whatever you do use. I don't use sandpaper, instead I use Abralon abrasives - much higher quality than any sandpaper I've ever had in my hands.
Kurt Huhn
AKA: Oversized Ostrogoth
artisan@k-huhn.com
n80

Post by n80 »

LatakiaLover wrote: Thu Sep 12, 2019 8:25 pm Ebonite and vulcanite are the same thing.
I wondered about that. I saw rods on line called ebonite of different grades and origins but semi-finished stems called vulcanite and assumed they were different. Good to know.
Getting the stuff to TRULY shine is a minor art form, and (probably) no two people do it the same way.