NAPC Entry-My Gratitude to Members of the Pipe Maker’s Forum

For the things that don't fit neatly into the other categories.
DocAitch

NAPC Entry-My Gratitude to Members of the Pipe Maker’s Forum

Post by DocAitch »

I am still floating on air after having had my entry selected for the set of seven for this years NAPC contest, and pondering how I did this.
As many of you know, I was a fairly prolific producer of pipe turds during the 1970s, gave up pipe making to pursue medicine for 40 years, and returned to the craft when I retired in late 2015.
I would still be producing turds if not for this forum.
While I was working on my entry, I had a bunch of people standing over my shoulder, reminding me of how to to all of the little things involved in making an artisan pipe rather than a turd.
Shaping- Todd Bannard, George Dibos, Walt Cannoy, Premal Chheda and Jeremiah Sandahl were all there critiquing line and balance and especially transition.
Drilling the stummel- Scott Thile and ?Kurt Hahn? With the freehand drilling (thank you for that Pipedia article, Scott).
Tobacco Chamber- I believe Jesse Jones pointed out that a ragged draft hole entry into the chamber was an ignition point for a burn out
Mortise - Jeremiah Sandahl and Jason Thompson with stabilizing the mortise.
Delrin tenon- Todd Johnson and Jason Thompson
Stem- George Dibos, Premal Chheda, Jason Thompson, Emmanuel Atilano, Seamonster, Scottie Piersel , Joe Hinkle,(some of this I read on the forum, watched George’s videos, or actually handled their finished products) I have visited Premal’s shop several times and see Jason once or twice a month locally. Jeremiah also pointed out that I could sand and polish the draft hole, and Seamonster pointed out that a good airway will pass a fluffy cleaner in both directions (or maybe that was Jesse Jones)