Bamboo Volcano

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
kamkiel

Bamboo Volcano

Post by kamkiel »

Hi everyone. This is my first attempt at a volcano, and I'm sure there are plenty of things I could do better. This was just a left over piece of wood from a bigger block so I added the bamboo. I also tried adding some acrylic beads into the bamboo since I was experimenting. I ran stainless steel tubing through the length of the bamboo and did one of those reverse mortise tenon connections for the stem. Originally a saddle stem was going to be used, but I couldn't get it to look the way I wanted it and ended up just doing a tapered stem. The bottom line on the stem is kind of crappy...something to work on(think I say that everytime). There is also a fatal flaw where on the shank near the bowl. It is a really skinny crack that goes from top to bottom on the right side (driver's front right).

Enough blabber. Critiques and comments are welcome. Thanks for looking.

DocAitch

Re: Bamboo Volcano

Post by DocAitch »

Interesting pipe. It is generally attractive and puts me in mind of an opium pipe.
Understanding that you were limited in your options by the fact that this is a piece of scrap briar, I still have a couple of comments.
1) The shank appears to curve to the right on the bottom view
2) the bowl rim treatment looks 'kinked' with a relatively sharp upward sweep that I think would look better if it were smoother (less sharp)
3) I think that this would look better with less bamboo, perhaps only two knuckles
4) I agree that the stem has something going on, but I am not exactly sure what that is. It looks like you continued the groove from the bamboo into the acrylic, and that affected your profile, but I am not sure. I am also not sure I like those beads at the leaf joints, seems like something that will be quickly lost.
DocAitch