Blasted Volcano...

Want to show you work to the world? Want a place to post photos of your work and solicit the opinions of those that have gone before you? Post your work here.
JMG

Blasted Volcano...

Post by JMG »

I personally hate the volcano shape. That being said, I can appreciate the work that goes behind one. I've seen where some of you guys who actually know a thing or two have taken this shape and even made some remarkable out it. (i.e. Mr. Weaver and his pipeodelic work.) I've been on an unplanned Dublin kick lately and decided to go the opposite route and that led me to the volcano. This is my first attempt at the shape so I would really appreciate your critique. Thanks guys.

Last edited by JMG on Tue Feb 10, 2015 2:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"No reserves, no retreats, no regrets"

"When you're dumb...you've got to be tough." - my dad
maxmil

Re: Blasted Volcano...

Post by maxmil »

Very nice pipe, and well executed.
Best regards.
Félix
LatakiaLover

Post by LatakiaLover »

That's your best work yet, I think. :D

The stem is a bit too long overall (both the cylindrical and blade portions), and the cylinder/blade transition edges a bit over-buffed, but that's about it. Maybe a slight sideways cant as well (bottom pic), but that's tough to see with parallax & etc.

PS -- the rim might be a bit thin (and therefore prone to burning), but we'd need a top or oblique-down pic to be sure.

PPS -- Stellar blast
UFOs must be real. There's no other explanation for cats.
Ocelot55

Post by Ocelot55 »

I agree that the stem is too long.

Other than that the composition is nice and neat. Volcanoes are great for practicing those convex curves. That skill will transfer over to different shapes.

Great work! :thumbsup:
JMG

Post by JMG »