Latest Rifle Stock

We all make stuff other than pipes, so here's a place where "anything goes" as far as showing off some of your projects and other hobbies.
AlfaDog

Latest Rifle Stock

Post by AlfaDog »

Newbie here. I finally found a discussion on how to upload pictures so I'm practicing here because I haven't made a pipe yet. Anyway I built this rifle from an old Mauser action. I polished the bolt raceway, lapped the bolt locking lugs, modified the feed ramp for longer cartridges and polished, new barrel chambered in .35 Whelen (30-06 case necked up to .35 cal.), set headspace, new trigger, cut, reshaped and rewelded the formerly straight bolt handle, reshaped the military trigger guard and I made the stock from a walnut blank. Steel grip cap, ebony forend tip. The only machine tools I used on the stock was a bandsaw to cut the rough shape out of the blank, and a drill press to drill the action screw holes and to hog out the magazine well undersized. The rest was rasps, carving tools, chisels, spokeshave, etc, general pipe making tools. Anyway I got all my personal guns restocked and I want to try a new hobby. So here I am. Please critique as you would a pipe. I need to start getting used to it. Thanks guys.
P.S. - I finished right before deer season which ends Jan. 31 in Alabama. After season I will checker or stipple the grip and forearm.

Last edited by AlfaDog on Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:48 pm, edited 4 times in total.
AlfaDog

Re: Latest Rifle Stock

Post by AlfaDog »

OK finally. But why is the screen so wide now? Do I need to resize the photos? I'm using photobucket for the first time. What size do I edit them to?

Update - I've made them smaller three times in photobucket and replaced them in the post with the smaller size but the size in the post hasn't changed at all. WTF?
RadDavis

Post by RadDavis »

Very nice. Do you use it to shoot pool? :twisted:

Rad
The Smoking Yeti

Post by The Smoking Yeti »