Which virginia grows best on the california coast.

Discussions on growing and cultivating tobacco.
samg

Which virginia grows best on the california coast.

Post by samg »

I would like to try my hand at growing some tobacco this year. I am looking for some advice from you expert growers :) regarding the best virginia, or other strains, for the mid california coast. I live just east of Monterey. Thanks Sam
Daniel Y

Re: Which virginia grows best on the california coast.

Post by Daniel Y »

Hello Sam, I just discovered the idea of growing my own tobacco myself. So I have no experience with any strains of any kind. I do have enough homework under my belt to have purchased my first seeds (several varieties), and set up my light and stand for germinating my first 80 or so seeds. I am moving a little slow since this is now the third day since I even found info on growing tobacco. I also have a huge amount of experience at growing other things.

So since I am past the selection of varieties part I felt I would respond to your question. from everything I have seen the delicate period for the seedlings is during the period that you grow them indoors. this seems to me to be the very reason you keep them indoors, so you can control their environment when it is most critical. It appears to me this period is also one of fairly slow development. I say this because I have seen cases where germination alone takes as much as two weeks and the seedlings where kept indoors for well over 9 weeks. At some point the seedlings switch to an aggressively growing mode. it is than that they are placed outdoors. It is my impression that at this point that the only issue for any variety is that they will not freeze, period.